GLORY 84 Results: Tyjani Beztati Makes Dominant Third Lightweight Title Defense & Stops Petchpanomrung in the Fourth Round

Mar 12, 2023
Tyjani Beztati on the attack. Photo: GLORY Kickboxing
GLORY 84 took place on March 11 at the Topsportcentrum in Rotterdam, the Netherlands.

GLORY returned to Rotterdam for the highly anticipated champion against champion Lightweight title fight between Tyjani Beztati and Petchpanomrung. 



Tyjani Beztati def. Petchpanomrung – The opening round started out clinch-heavy with Petchpanomrung tripping and throwing Beztati at will. It didn't take long for the Moroccan fighter to adjust and turn the tables, as he started landing big knees to the head and body whenever Petchpanomrung initiated the clinch. That discouraged the Featherweight champion to look for the inside. With the now more apparent becoming reach disadvantage, Petchpanomrung's attacks became more predictable, culminating in Beztati landing a stabbing front kick to stop the Thai in round four. The first stoppage loss for Petchpanomrung since making his kickboxing debut seven years ago.

Jay Overmeer def. Jamie Bates – Jay Overmeer had trouble finding his footing in the first round, often running face-first into counters, giving Jamie Bates plenty of moments to shine. That quickly changed in the second round when Overmeer started connecting to the body. Demonstrating great finishing instincts, he scored three heavy knockdowns in quick succession to stop the bout. 

Chico Kwasi def. Stefan Orza – Undefeated Stefan Orza didn't have much to offer for Mike's Gym fighter Chico Kwasi. Kwasi showcased a varied mix of knees, punches, and kicks to constantly hurt the Romanian fighter. Three knockdowns in the second round later, the referee had seen enough.




Tyjani Beztati def. Petchpanomrung – KO at 1:42 of R4 – GLORY Lightweight Championship

Tarik Khbabez def. Daniel Toledo –  TKO (Corner stoppage) at 2:47 of R2

Jay Overmeer def. Jamie Bates – TKO (Three knockdowns) at 2:42 of R2

Felipe Micheletti def. Nordine Mahieddine – Unanimous Decision

Michael Boapeah def. Ertuğrul Bayrak – Unanimous Decision

Sofian Laïdouni def. Nabil Khachab – Unanimous Decision


Chico Kwasi def. Stefan Orza – KO (Knee) at 3:00 of R2

David Tuitupou def. Strahinja Mitric – Unanimous Decision