ONE Friday Fights 1 Results: Nong-O Crushes Alaverdi Ramazanov in the Third Round to Defend His ONE Bantamweight Muay Thai Title

Jan 21, 2023
Nong-O lands a right hand to the body. Photo: ONE Championship
ONE Championship kicked off its weekly events at Lumpinee Stadium with ONE Friday Fights 1, headlined by a battle for the Bantamweight Muay Thai title.

In the main event, reigning ONE Bantamweight Muay Thai champion Nong-O Gaiyanghadao defended his belt as he rallied to a third-round knockout against Dagestani challenger Alaverdi Ramazanov.

Ramazanov came out strong, employing his usual unorthodox switch-hitting style. While Nong-O struggled for the first half of the opening round, he quickly found his rhythm and started landing heavy kicks and big right hands to the chin of Ramazanov. More and more, the champion started to take the initiative. In the third round, the momentum completely swung in the favor of Nong-O as he unloaded heavy kicks and body shots against Ramazanov. The challenger couldn't withstand the onslaught and crumbled to the canvas after a flush left hook to the body. A performance worthy of a US$50,000 bonus.

Nong-O now has knocked out all the top 5 ranked fighters in his division in a row. 

In the co-main event, former ONE Strawweight Muay Thai World Champion Prajanchai beat Kompetch via unanimous decision. In the opening round, Kompetch dictated the pace with a steady stream of right kicks to the body of Prajanchai. In the next two rounds however, the difference in speed became apparent. The former champions kept peppering Kompetch with solid shots, even sending him to the canvas once. A strong performance for Prajanchai, after losing the belt in May of last year. 




Nong-O def. Alaverdi Ramazanov via KO at 2:14 of R2 - ONE Bantamweight Muay Thai World Title

Prajanchai def. Kompetch Sitsarawatsuer via unanimous decision

Khunsueklek def. Petbanrai via unanimous decision 

Komawut def. Sansiri via unanimous decision 

Sonrak def. Tai via majority decision 

Sagaengarm def. Suayai via KO at 2:47 of R1

Seksan def. Tyson Harrison via split decision

Richard Godoy def. Alexy Lyapunov via split decision 

Muangthai def. Mavlud Tupiev via unanimous decision 

Josh Hill def. Keivan Soleimani via unanimous decision 

Colton Kielbasa def. Akihiro Fujisawa via submission (rear-naked choke) via 0:57 of R1

Mohammad Sadeghi def. Angelos Giakoumis via unanimous decision