RISE World Series 2022 Results: Osaki Defends Title, Shiratori & YA-MAN Deliver Fight of the Year Contender

Oct 18, 2022
YA-MAN and Taiju Shiratori throwing down. Photo: RISE
The RISE World Series 2022 took place on October 15 in the Ota City General Gymnasium in Tokyo, Japan.

In the main event, reigning champion Kazuki Osaki made his first title defense in a rematch against Kazane. The challenger learned his lesson from their first encounter and made this one a much closer affair. Being the more varied striker between the two, Kazane tried to pressure and work his way inside the pocket with flurries of punches. The champion kept his cool, picked his shots, and employed a power-over-volume approach, tagging Kazane with sharp left hooks to the body and head, which awarded him the majority decision win after five hard-fought rounds.

In the co-headlining bout, fan-favorite YA-MAN took on Taiju Shiratori. Edging out the crafty brawler, Shiratori took the first round. Things started to heat up, as the taller Shiratori landed a knee on YA-MAN's chin, dropping the 26-year-old for an eight-count. Jumping on his hurt prey, Shiratori kept tagging YA-MAN with clean and varied shots, almost finishing him. Bruised and cut open, YA-MAN rallied back in typical fashion, chasing Shiratori across the ring and visibly hurting him with hooks to the body and looping punches to the head. Although a losing effort, in the end, the gutsy performance of the 'King of Street Fight' ended up being the talking point of the event once again.




Kazuki Osaki def. Kazane via majority decision (50-49, 48-48, 49-48) 

Taiju Shiratori def. YA-MAN via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-27)

Shiro def. Koki Osaki via extra-round decision (10-9, 10-9, 10-9)

Chanhyeong Lee def. Kan Nakamura via TKO at 1:39 of Round 2

Koyuki Miyazaki def. Petloolaon Sarigym via unanimous decision (30-29, 30-28, 30-29)

Haruto Yasumoto def. Kensei Yamakawa via KO at 1:04 of Round 1

Chadd Collins def. Naoki via KO at 2:42 of Round 2

Taiga def. Shota Okudaira via extra-round decision (10-9 , 10-9, 10-9) 

Tsubasa def. Ryu Hanaoka via unanimous decision (20-19, 20-19, 20-19)

Ryujin Nasukawa def. Ryotaro Yoshida via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)

Sho Ogawa def. Kenta via unanimous decision (30-29, 30-29, 30-29)


Ryunosuke Ito def. Takumi Hoshi via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Retsu Sashida def. Shinnosuke Nagamatsu via unanimous decision (29-26, 30-26, 30-26)