GLORY 88 Results: Badr Hari Refuses to Fight Following Earthquake in Morocco, Tiffany Van Soest Wins in Spectacular Fashion and Retires on Top

Sep 09, 2023
Tiffany Van Soest on top. Photo: GLORY Kickboxing
A memorable night for GLORY for more than one reason.

GLORY 88 took place yesterday in Paris, France in the sold-out Dôme de Paris. The event was supposed to be headlined by Badr Hari against James McSweeney for a much-sought-after spot in December's GLORY Heavyweight Grand Prix but Badr Hari decided to not fight tonight. The fighter entered the ring before the women's title fight to announce that due to the catastrophic earthquake in Morocco, his heart won't be in the ring tonight but with the people suffering. Scott Rudmann added that Badr Hari will return to France later this year to make up for his no-showing tonight. In the new main event, Tiffany Van Soest made her last walk to the ring to defend her title against Sarah Moussaddak.



GLORY Women's Super Bantamweight champion Tiffany Van Soest proved why she's the best female fighter in the world for one last time. After a controversial performance in their first bout, the reigning champion came out much more aggressive against Sarah Moussaddak. The American fighter kept connecting with straight punches that stopped the challenger in her tracks. In the second round, Van Soest upped the pressure even more, and after a sneaky left switch kick, Moussaddak hit the canvas and wasn't able to beat the count. 


Nordine Mahieddine scored a spectacular knockout in the final minute of his bout against Abderahmane Coulibaly.

GLORY Vice Chairman Scott Rudmann was impressed with both performances and awarded them a bonus.

"Congratulations to the bout winners of GLORY 88 and thank you to all the fans in Paris. Tiffany Van Soest for your insane retirement performance we award FIGHT OF THE NIGHT. Nordeine Mahhadiene’s tremendous right kick - KO OF THE NIGHT, each fighter to receive $10,000."




Badr Hari vs. James McSweeney – Cancelled

(C) Tiffany van Soest def. Sarah Moussaddak – KO at 1:47 of R2

Nordine Mahieddine def. Abderahmane Coulibaly – KO at 2:19 at R3

Denis Wosik def. Berjan Peposhi – Split Decision

Stefan Latescu def. Pascal Touré– Unanimous Decision

Nikola Todorovic def. Karim Ghajji – Unanimous Decision

James Condé def. Jonathan Mayezo– Unanimous Decision

Iliass Hammouche def. Florian Kröger – Unanimous Decision

Diaguely Camara def. Ilyass Chakir – Unanimous Decision