K-1 ReBIRTH 2 Results: The Night of Upsets! Ouyang Feng Becomes Super Welterweight Champion, KANA Dethroned, Leona Pettas Loses Majority Decision

Dec 09, 2023
Fierce battle between Hiromi Wajima & Ouyang Feng. Photo: K-1 Japan Group
K-1 closes out 2023 with an action-packed card.

Despite the lack of international streaming options, K-1 nevertheless presented an unforgettable night of kickboxing and a late entry for event of the year with ReBIRTH 2. The fight card featured a diverse array of exciting bouts, including four title fights and numerous matchups of divisional importance.



China's Ouyang Feng knocked out Hiromi Wajima in the second round to become the new K-1 Super Welterweight Champion. While the first round was a display of technical brilliance and measured aggression from both Feng and Wajima, Wajima got overzealous and ultimately paid the price.


Shintaro Matsukura defeated Hasan Toy in a controversial split decision after four rounds to become the K-1 Middleweight Champion. Toy marched toward Shintaro Matsukura in the first round landing heavy punches, clean kicks, and devastating knees with ease. Shintaro had no answer for this onslaught until the second round when, after landing an accidental groin shot, he started to land accurate strikes as Toy was in southpaw.

After yet another groin shot from Shintaro in the third round, Toy started to establish his distance while Shintaro landed boxing combinations resulting in a draw and an extra round. The extra round was more of the same story as the third with both fighters having significant moments. Toy was visibly upset and shaking his head while hearing the decision, while Shintaro cried tears of joy and was embraced by Takeru, who trains with him and was present in his corner. 


WAKO Pro K-1 World Super Lightweight champion Rémi Parra defeated K-1 Super Featherweight champion Leona Pettas in a non-title bout upset. Pettas, returning after a significant hand surgery and more than a year away from competition, was able to do well in the opening round. The momentum shifted in Parra’s favor in the second round as he found his rhythm. Parra adeptly cut off Pettas and strung together combinations that ultimately granted him the victory. The French kickboxer improves his record to 15-1.


At only 19 years old, Lan Shanteng faced undoubtedly the biggest challenge of his career fighting K-1 Super Bantamweight champion, Akihiro Kaneko. Both fighters started out the gate at a high pace, with Kaneko landing the cleaner, more effective strikes. The pace amplified in the second round, with Lan Shanteng landing solid knees and Kaneko landing hooks to the body and middle kicks. The final round was yet another back-and-forth exchange, with Kaneko gradually pulling away, getting the better of Lan with a variety of attacks. The fight went the distance with both men throwing every strike with finishing intention till the final bell. Though it resulted in a loss, Lan's performance certainly raised his stock.


Antonia Prifti, an experienced fighter who competes in Kickboxing, Muay Thai, and MMA, dethroned KANA to become the Women’s Flyweight champion. While KANA had her moments and left visible damage on the body and face of Prifti, it was not enough to offset the Greek’s sharp technique that allowed her to establish her range and land at will.

This will mark KANA's first loss since 2020 and the end of her almost four year title reign. Time will tell if KANA can bounce back from this loss and if Prifti can defend her new crown.



Ouyang Feng def. Hiromi Wajima – K-1 Super Welterweight Championship –  KO at 2:13 of R2

Shintaro Matsukura def. Hasan Toy – K-1 Middleweight Championship – Extra Round Decision

Remi Parra def. Leona Pettas – Majority Decision

Akihiro Kaneko def. Shanteng Lan – Unanimous Decision

Liu Ce def. Seiya Tanigawa – KO at 2:38 of R1

Kyo Kawakami def. Toma Tanabe – Unanimous Decision

Mason Usami def. Kaito – KO at 1:05 of R2

Hayato Suzuki def. Toyoki Asakura – KO at 0:44 of R3

Toma Kuroda def. Issei Ishii – K-1 Bantamweight Championship – Unanimous Decision

Antonia Prifti def. KANA – K-1 Women's Flyweight Championship – Unanimous Decision

SAHO def. Li Lishan – Unanimous Decision

Miyuu Sugawara def. Lucille Deadman – Unanimous Decision

Shodai Yamaguchi def. Ryunosuke Hoshi – KO at 1:00 of R3

Riki Matsuoka def. Jomthong – Unanimous Decision

Tatsuya Oiwa def. Yuto Shinohara – KO at 2:38 of R1

Shoki Kaneda vs. Daosiam – KO at 2:17 of R1

Tatsuya Tsubakihara def. Kensuke – Unanimous Decision

Riku Yamano vs. Abilal Himalayan Cheetah – Unanimous Decision


Yamawaki Tsubasa def. Matsuba Toya – Unanimous Decision

Kengo Murata def. Kaito Horii – Unanimous Decision

Kaito Matsumoto def. Kaishi – KO at 2:48 of R1

Sota Amano def. Harada Toki – KO at 0:47 of R2

Gentaro def. Yoshimura Takumi – Unanimous Decision