RISE World Series 2023 Final Round Results: Chadd Collins Upsets Petchpanomrung to Win RISE Title, Toki Tamaru Becomes 54 KG Grand Prix Champion in Flawless Performance

Dec 19, 2023
Chadd Collins rocks Petchpanomrung. Photo: Nob Yasumura
Vicious knockouts, upsets, and close back-and-forth battles. RISE closed out the year strong.

The RISE World Series 2023 Final Round took place on Saturday, December 16 at the Ryogoku Kokugikan in Tokyo, Japan. The event featured fighters from four different promotions - RISE, GLORY, Petchyindee, and K-1. The main event was the 54 KG Tournament Final between Toki Tamaru and Kumandoi

Chadd Collins took on the seemingly unstoppable Petchpanomrung for the RISE Super Lightweight title.



Toki Tamaru continued his flawless run, going undefeated in five fights throughout the year with a victory over Thai veteran Kumandoi. His slick defense was the deciding factor, dodging and weaving most of Kumandoi's looping punches. The Japanese fighter looked much sharper on the offense as well, puncturing Kumandoi's guard with lighting-fast left straights – even scoring a knockdown in round two. 

All three judges scored the fight in favor of Tamaru, who can now call himself the 54 KG Grand Prix champion.


Chadd Collins pulled off the upset and beat GLORY and RISE champion Petchpanomrung in a thrilling five-round affair. The accomplished Australian Muay Thai athlete had a stellar run up the RISE ranks, but until now everyone but Robin Van Roosmalen has stumbled against the Thai at his home at 65 KG.

Out of the gate, 'The Shark' looked lost against the powerful kicks and composure of Petchpanomrung. He had trouble finding his rhythm and scoring effectively while stumbling into clinches repeatedly. Round two was an entirely different tune. Collins kept landing right hooks to the body that startled the champion and left him open for more work on the inside. His constant pressure paid dividends as Petchpanomrung slowed down considerably in the championship rounds.

The fifth round was all one-way traffic for Collins, who looked the much fresher fighter.

A win that opens many doors for Collins. GLORY, who was surprisingly quiet about their fighter's involvement in the event, is most certainly left with no other choice but to invite the Australian fighter for a rematch to settle the score – this time with the GLORY belt on the line.

Then there's also Kento Haraguchi, who's second-round stoppage over top-contender Abraham Vidales puts him right up there as the next challenger.



A rough night for GLORY fighters, or for whoever RISE titled a GLORY fighter. Abraham Vidales, Zakaria Zouggary, James Condé, Ahmed Akoudad, Victor De Koning all suffered crushing knockout defeats at the hands of their Japanese opponents. Petru Morari was the only one scoring a majority decision win over Ryota Nakano. 


As tradition, RISE invited a handful of high-level stadiums Thais as challengers for Shiro, Kazuki Osaki and Koyuki Miyazaki with varying outcomes.

Shiro was able to defeat 'The Atomic Kick' Boonlong in the opening round after reading the timing of his kicks and countering with a flurry of punches to score a knockdown early in round one. In an effort to catch up, the Thai left himself wide open for Shiro to capitalize with a sharp counter right straight.

Kazuki Osaki edged out a razor-thin extra round split decision against 17-year-old Jarensuk. The Thai was surprisingly tough, weathering through constant body shots to deliver knee after knee and kick after kick. A controversial decision in the eyes of some. Osaki agreed, noting that "above all, Jarunsuk was extremely strong".




Toki Tamaru def. Kumandoi – 54 KG Tournament Final – Unanimous Decision

Chadd Collins def. Petchpanomrung – RISE World Super Lightweight Championship 

Kento Haraguchi def. Abraham Vidales – KO at 1:49 of R2

Taiju Shiratori def. Zakaria Zouggary – KO at 1:27 of R3

Kaito def. James Condé – KO at 2:06 of R1

Kan Nakamura def. Ahmed Akoudad – KO at 1:31 of R2

Kenta Nanbara def. Victor De Koning – KO at 1:01 of R4

Seina def. Tessa De Kom – Unanimous Decision

Petru Morari def. Ryota Nakano – Majority Decision

Shiro def. Boonlong – KO at 2:28 of R1

Kazuki Osaki def. Jarensuk – Extra-Round Split Decision

Koyuki Miyazaki def. Mongkutpetch – Unanimous Decision

Koji Ikeda def. Musashi Matsushita – Majority Decision

Hyuma Hitachi def. Katsuji Takahashi – KO at 2:19 of R2

Taisei Iwago def. Shota Okudaira – Majority Decision

Ryujin Nasukawa def. Ryutaro – KO at 2:04 of R3


Naofumi Yamashina def. Taisei Kondo – KO at 1:33 of R3

Montana Aerts def. Nonoka Kato – Unanimous Decision

Shinnosuke Nagamatsu def. Goki Sugiyama – Unanimous Decision